Info

BHH Blog | a toronto food blog

Can I be honest?

I hope it doesn’t make things too awkward.

But, once in a while I become more withdrawn than usual. It happens. I think we’ve all been through this at some point: You don’t want to leave the house, you feel lethargic, coffee stops working, socializing becomes a chore, etc, etc, etc. Then you feel bad for feeling bad and being a terrible friend. It just keeps compounding and never ends. Fortunately for me, these feelings eventually ebb away. It’s probably just SAD.

In the meantime, if you’re like me, you’ve probably spent all this home time watching Adventure Time and eating loads of oatmeal. (I’m not kidding, there’s three tupperwares of Overnight Slow Cooker Apple Pie Steel Oats in the freezer ready to be defrosted at any time.) The upside is that now I have a list of recipes saved for when I feel a bit more energized. I’ve already started with a penne and brussels sprouts pasta I’ve been eyeing (post coming up soon). A non-recipe that’s pretty satisfying is plain rice topped with a fried egg with soy sauce and sesame oil, the recommendation of a friend.

homebody

Also looking forward to:
01. Ginger Fried Rice
02. A relative quick Mushroom Bourguignon
03. Caramelized White Chocolate
04. Nigella Lawson’s Dense Chocolate Loaf Cake
05. Slow Cooker Apple Cinnamon Steel-Cut Oatmeal
06. Jim Lahey’s No-Knead Baguettes ;)
07. Homemade Ikea Swedish Meatballs
08. Sesame Pancake Sandwich Bread
09. Nutella Buns
10. Kale Rice Bowl

Comments

4 Comments

Post a comment
  1. Janet Rörschåch #
    February 16, 2013

    I love your photography! That egg just looks scrumptious.

  2. February 22, 2013

    I have to admit, I totally do this too. It must be a SAD / time of year thing – nice to know I’m not alone! Though for me instead of Adventure Time, it’s Archer, but everything else is pretty much the same. I’m also now totally tempted to try that slow cooker oatmeal… Sounds like a Sunday morning kinda thing. Love it.

    • February 22, 2013

      I’ve been hearing about Archer! Going to have to check it out. The slow cooker oatmeal is very good, especially with apples and cinnamon…it’s like eating a pie.

  3. natasa #
    March 1, 2013

    going through the exact same thing over here in Denmark!

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 316 other followers