Info

BHH Blog | a toronto food blog

Welllll, this has been a long time coming. After three weeks, here are some pictures of our dinner at Joe Beef. I’ve resisted posting about it because I fear nothing I say can convey what a lovely evening we had there. Good and simple food with exceptional sauces and broth (the rouille in Leo’s fish/mussels dish was amazing), great atmosphere, attentive and happy staff, what more could you ask for from a restaurant? Within moments of sitting down, I knew that I would love Joe Beef – and I was right. I will give full and absolute credit to Leo since it was his pick…I cannot wait to go back again…:)

If there is one thing that you cannot miss when you go, it’s the oysters. They were to die for. Really. They were the perfect combination of salty and sweet with a fresh, clean finish, very much like breathing in ocean air. Speaking as someone who is not a fan of oysters, though I suspect it’s because I’ve never had any that were thaaat good, I could have eaten twenty more and just that.

The rest of our meal wasn’t too bad either. Our burrata salad was a bit on the heavy side – too much mozzarella casing and not enough cream – but I appreciated the lovely green and yellow beans it came with.

Leo got the colin roti (baked pollock fish) while I went with the safe Cornish hen with lobster. This is when we realized that despite its name, Joe Beef is a great seafood restaurant. The fish was flakey perfection and my chicken was completely overshadowed by the pieces of lobster scattered on my dish. Throughout the night I watched longingly as others ordered the popular lobster spaghetti, which was massive and generous on the lobster…I was so jealous! While my stomach complained, my brain quietly thanked me for not putting myself through what I knew would have been a torturous night of gluttony had I ordered their spaghetti.

For desserts we shared the donuts with smoked cheddar in maple syrup. They were these perfect little bites of sweetness, the kind that are toothachingly sweet, but then came the smokiness of the cheddar that balanced it out somehow….I don’t think I’m doing a good job describing it, but it was good.

As mentioned before, I would go back in a heartbeat! Officially counting down to our next trip to Montreal.

Comments

5 Comments

Post a comment
  1. August 27, 2011

    Thank you so much, glad you came to JB. Your pictures are beautiful. We’d’love to post them to our JB FB page.
    Follow us on twitter
    Thanks again for coming. Hope to see u again

    • August 28, 2011

      thank you! i’d be more than happy to post the pics on the JB facebook page :)

  2. September 1, 2011

    gorgeous shots and the food looks fabulous.

    • September 2, 2011

      thank you! it was really enjoyable.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. All the best | BHH

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS