Info

BHH Blog | a toronto food blog

Celebrating the end of August with pretty carrots and beets from the Leslieville Farmers’ Market and a bowl of Naengmyeon (cold noodles) from my favourite Korean restaurant on Bloor, Tofu Village. Both were taken on the Canon AE-1 using the Kodak UltraMax 400 film.

I actually bought the Kodak UltraMax 400 by accident. At Terrance‘s, from terriniphoto.com, suggestion, I went looking for the Kodak Portra 400, but the guy at the Lomography Store ended up selling me the UltraMax while thinking it was the Portra. By the time I realized that there was a mistake, I had already gotten on the streetcar and didn’t feel like going back. It ended up working out very well though! While the tones are still not what I am looking for, it is considerably better than the generic brand from Shoppers’ Drug Mart. ALSO, I think I’ve gotten a bit better with the focusing; it involved lots of squinting, cleaning my glasses, more squinting and hoping for the best. After I post the long overdued Montreal pics, I’ll get to the film pics. (I have two more rolls to scan, then I’m set!) I did a few digital vs. film comparisons as well, so, it’s going to be interesting to see the side by side.

Unfortunately, my scanner isn’t doing any of the film photos justice right now. The pictures are crisper IRL, really, the camera is amazingly sharp, even at wide open.

Comments

One Comment

Post a comment
  1. September 6, 2011

    That was funny about the guy giving you UltraMax instead of Portra. Anyhow, you’re doing a great job so far Patricia. Keep experimenting with film (don’t hesitate to overexpose color negative film) and it’ll just be a matter of time before you settle on one that you really like and one that can give you the results you want.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS