Info

BHH Blog | a toronto food blog

We headed to Kenzo last Tuesday night to lift up our spirits. A two hour panel-lecture featuring former Toronto Mayor David Miller and U of T’s David Hulchanski on the depressing and frightening future awaiting Toronto had left us feeling less than enthused about life in the city. RIP Transit City. The brisk winter walk en route to hot noodle soup was just what we needed to clear our heads.

I don’t know what it is about ramen, but no matter how full I get, I always feel like there’s never enough noodles in my bowl. This is probably an indication that I am a horrible glutton. Remember my second dinner at Ippudo last year in New York? Yeah. Glutton.

Since Ippudo, I’ve been ordering Hakata tonkotsu ramen whenever I’m confronted with a Ramen menu. What makes Hakata ramen different is the use of thinner and firmer textured noodles in a milk-white pork bone broth topped with green onion and pickled red ginger. Kenzo’s version is by far the prettiest in a striking blue bowl with the addition of al dente baby bok-choy and half a boiled egg. If you like colours, you know what I mean – it’s a visual treat! Tonkotsu-miso ramen, as I discovered on Tuesday, uses miso paste that darkens the broth, but gives it a richer, bolder flavour. Umami. I would definitely recommend the Tonkotsu-miso ramen.

Comments

2 Comments

Post a comment
  1. March 7, 2012

    Love the ramen here, the texture of the noodles are always perfect!

  2. March 7, 2012

    *is?

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS