Info

BHH Blog | a toronto food blog

“It seems to me that our three basic needs, for food and security and love, are so mixed and mingled and entwined that we cannot straightly think of one without the others. So it happens that when I write of hunger, I am really writing about love and the hunger for it, and warmth and the love of it and the hunger for it… and then the warmth and richness and fine reality of hunger satisfied… and it is all one.” – M.F.K. Fisher

I have great plans of spending the rest of this Sunday afternoon cozying up with MFK Fisher, whose epicurian writing and style is akin to eating the most luxurious chocolate dessert you can imagine with layers and layers of beautiful and thoughtful observations in the most Proustian way. If you’re a Hemmingway fan, you may find her a little bit too frou frou, but she expresses a lot of things that I couldn’t put into words until I finally read it – the reality of hunger satisfied – and makes me feel a little less guilty for obsessing and loving food so much that I have a compulsive need to take a picture of every good thing I’ve eaten.

Comments

One Comment

Post a comment
  1. Maria Ada #
    February 19, 2012

    Thanks for the recommendation! I’ve been trying to establish a good collection of cookbooks and food writing, and this sounds just lovely.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS