Info

BHH Blog | a toronto food blog

Ever since watching the Tartine Bread promotional video and stumbling upon the Tartine Bread Experiment blog, I’ve been dying to have another go at bread making at home and give working with yeast another chance. I still haven’t bought the book yet, but I have been hunting around the internet for some free recipes. Jim Lahey’s No Knead Bread recipe seems to be a very popular one, with FecalFace.com posting about it for some reason. (FecalFace is an art blog, I swear.)

This is only my second attempt (i and ii) and the results, so far, have been alright. I’m not quite sure what it is, it could be the flour I’m using or my kitchen itself or maybe even the oven, but my dough keeps turning out wetter than it should be and my attempts to compensate for it by adding more flour on my second try resulted in a very tough bread. (Adding extra flour required that I kneaded it a bit, so maybe that’s why it got tough?) I will try it with less water next time.

As Ink Remains had great looking results, so it’s not the recipe, it’s just me.

The sandwich was made using my day old Lahey bread. It had gotten tougher over night, but a quick pop in the toaster remedied that. The roasted chicken, using a rosemary and lime olive oil marinade, was also a leftover from the night before. And, of course, we all know a good sandwich is even better when topped with a fried egg.

More: Rosemary Foccacia Bread and Cinnamon Sugar Pull Apart Bread.

Comments

6 Comments

Post a comment
  1. February 22, 2012

    Oh no! I swear it’s supppper easy!

    The dough is suppose to be SUPER wet so don’t add more flour. There shouldn’t be any kneading either, you literally just add the water to the flour, salt, and yeast mixture until the water combines with the flour (it can even be lumpy-ish) and then you let it sit for 12+ hours.

    All you need to do after is dump out the wet stiiiiiiiicky bubbly dough out unto a super floured tea towel, fold it over onto itself once and then twice with floured hands, and then dump it into an oven safe dish with a lid (the lid is super important!) and VOILA.

    Please please try it again – it’s wonderful bread! Say you willl?

    • February 22, 2012

      Oh, for sure, trying it again without adding extra flour. It was better the first time I tried it, but since everyone’s step by step pics had firmer dough made me worry and add extra flour while I was folding it. :(

    • February 22, 2012

      Oh, for sure, trying it again without adding extra flour. It was better the first time I tried it, but since everyone’s step by step pics had firmer dough made me worry and add extra flour while I was folding it.

  2. February 23, 2012

    Haha, no worries – I think I might do another post but I’ll make sure to show the dough this time. It’s not the kind of dough I was used to for sure… A very different kind of bread for sure!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Winter Transitioning: Recipe round up #2 | BHH
  2. All the best | BHH

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS