Info

BHH Blog | a toronto food blog

Here’s another leftover ‘sandwich’ using Friday dinner’s rapini and some convenient pre-made ready to bake biscuits from the grocery store.


Garlic and Red Chilli Flakes Rapini
1 bunch of rapini
3 gloves of garlic, sliced
3 dried red chilli, crushed
3 to 4 tbsp of olive oil/canola oil
Salt to taste

Wash and cut the stalks, leaves and flowers into edible sizes. In a deep pan or wok, fry the garlic and chilies until the garlic begins to brown. Gradually add the rapini until it shrinks and cover the pan and let the rapini cook and steam until tender, about 6 to 10 minutes.

Serve as a side, or in a sandwich…topped with an egg…the perfect foil to the bitterness of the leafy greens.

Comments

4 Comments

Post a comment
  1. February 26, 2012

    Just wanted to say what a very, very lovely blog you have. I have gone through several pages already and couldn’t stop! Thanks for divulging all your camera secrets. I have been thinking of selling my Yashika camera since I have gotten tired of the overly saturated photographs and ultimately prefer the dreamier shots the Canon AE-1 has. If you don’t mind me asking, what lens do you use for the Canon AE-1 when taking your indoor food photography? :) Keep up the great work!

    • February 27, 2012

      Hi Patricia (!!!), thanks for the lovely comments, glad you’re enjoying the blog :)! I use the 50mm f1.8 FD lens for the Canon AE-1, but I was told that there are better lenses for it…I guess it’s pretty much all subjective.

  2. March 4, 2012

    So glad you both have met over here! haha, I obviously love both your blogs ;)

    I was also going to ask you a question – do you remember where you got your plates? I love the speckled glaze!

    • March 7, 2012

      I usually do my plate hunting and buying at Salvation Army or Good Will…but this one had no specific brand, it just says Made in Japan on the back. .

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS