Info

BHH Blog | a toronto food blog

I tried to make Hervé This’ Chocolate Mousse on Friday, but it didn’t turn out exactly as planned. I used baking chocolate from Mast Brothers Chocolate, which turned out too bitter to use without sugar. Since my family found it inedible and I couldn’t finish all of it by myself, I threw it in a banana muffin batter the next day. We ate the last muffin this morning. T’was very good. Baking isn’t that hard!

Without much further ado, here’s what’s making me happy today:

1. Knowing Light: a photo blog has soft focus pictures that only film can create. Katie, a plant biologist living in Portland, doesn’t update the blog very much, but her flickr and twitter accounts are pretty active.

2. Globe and Mail’s Food & Wine section has a David Chang recipe up. It’s Korean sticky ribs.

3. The Arancia Project aims to document the best North American coffee spots. Since they’re based in Brooklyn, it’s mostly New York coffee shops and restaurants. I happily recommended Cafe Myriad to them last year when they were visiting Montreal. ;)

4. The Hakka Cookbook: Chinese Soul Food from the World comes out in October! If you’ve ever had Chilli Chicken and grew up eating Preserved Mustard Greens with Pork Belly and meat stuffed tofu, you know why this is so exciting. Mostly, this will be the first time I’ll have the English names for things my grandma cooks for us.

5. Not food or picture related at all, NPR’s Pop Culture Happy Hour is probably the only radio show I’ve ever been excited about….other than CBC’s Metro Morning with Matt Galloway, obviously.

Comments

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS