Info

BHH Blog | a toronto food blog

I used to read a lot. YA novels mostly. Usually sci-fi/fantasy (Diana Wynne Jones), and perhaps a bit of fanfiction here and there.

One summer I decided to only read Jane Austen; I managed to get through Pride and Prejudice, Emma, and Persuasion (which is my favourite so far), but I abandoned Mansfield Park after one chapter. I have George Eliot’s Middlemarch still sitting on my bookshelf for the past eight years (I pride my sixteen year old self for having tried at least!), but it’s on my list of Great English Novels to read along Wuthering Heights (ack, who else hasn’t read it yet?), Tess of the d’Urbervilles, and probably everything Dickens ever wrote.

Anyway! This summer I thought I’d try to read a bit more, by which I mean to just read in general. There was no specific criteria, I picked whatever I felt like reading. So, here is what I’ve enjoyed:

American Wife by Curtis Sittenfeld
Last Night in Twisted River by John Irving
Little Children by Tom Perrota
NW by Zadie Smith
Changing my Mind by Zadie Smith – my favourite essay of the bunch was Dead Man Laughing, written for the New Yorker (I must have read it like five times by now)
Days of Reading (abridged) by Marcel Proust

For some inspired culinary travels:
Passage to the Amazon by Neide Rigo for Saveur Magazine
Danny Bowien Does Chengdu by Andrew Knowlton for Bon Appetit

If you get the chance, definitely go check these out of the library.

Next summer might be a Kafka affair or maybe Nabokov?

Happy Friday!

Comments

One Comment

Post a comment
  1. November 21, 2012

    Great recos! And you managed to capture the serenity and joy of reading through your ‘grams :)

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS