Info

BHH Blog | a toronto food blog

BHH Blog | Garam Masala Cake

A pack of Duncan Hines or Betty Crocker cake mix can go for as little as 97 cents. The most I have ever paid for one was $1.50. While I usually like them just fine on their own, on occasions when I want to be fancy I like to throw in special ingredients like a mix of brown sugar and cinnamon with ground nuts for a coffee cake.

The idea of using Garam Masala came from my mom. I was a tad skeptical at first, but google proved her right once again.

Duncan Hines has their own recipe for a Garam Masala Pound Cake, but it needs apple butter and their spiced cake mix. I flavoured a regular white cake mix with loads of cinnamon, nutmeg and ground cinnamon, and replaced the apple butter with sour cream. The problem with cake mix flavours is that they’re already overpowering and quite sweet, so, I put more garam masala than suggested. Like a lot more.

The cake went well with a cup of strong coffee. I’m thinking of adding some dried apricots next time.

Other variants: LCBO’s Persimmon Garam Masala Upside Down Cake, and a Teaspoon of Turmeric’s Holiday Garam Masala Spiced Cake.

Comments

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS