Info

BHH Blog | a toronto food blog

A little Italian birdie once told us that Pizzeria Libretto couldn’t compare to the pizzas they make back in Italy. He said there was something off with the crust. After finally trying Libretto on Wednesday night I suspect that’s probably true. Pizzeria Libretto isn’t by any means bad. It’s a lovely busy place and the food is pretty good, but I feel inclined to say that I’ve had better, more satisfying pizzas at Gerrard’s for about the same price. As much as I really wanted to love it, I couldn’t get pass the soggy crust. But to be fair, the only exposure that I’ve ever had with pizza napoletana was through a tiny screen embedded at the back of the an airplane seat that was playing Eat, Pray and Love. Other than that, I’ve never had wood oven fired pizza – so, I’m not an expert on anything, but maybe it’s meant to be soggy? I guess we’ll have to try Queen Margherita Pizza to find out!

We started with the Buttermilk Calamari and a side of meatballs. Both appetizers were pretty standard, but came with some really delicious tomato and red pepper sauces that I’d like to recreate at home. The calamari were tender and perfect. The meatballs were crumbly, but good.

For the pizzas, we got their Housemade Sausage, Ontario Prosciutto & Arugula and a Margherita (I wish I got more basil…). We ended dinner with a really divine Lemon Panna Cotta with toasted hazel nuts, the difinite highlight of my night, and an affogato. Leo was eyeing their Gingerino cocktail, but since he now has campari at home….we didn’t get any drinks.

All in all, it was a pleasant dinner. Oh, while waiting to get seated we saw the guitarist from Metric! We took a stealth picture of him, but I feel awkward posting it.

Pizzeria Libretto
221 Ossington Avenue

Comments

One Comment

Post a comment
  1. August 11, 2011

    WOW! This looks soo delicious! We would like to put them on our site!

    http://www.whatTOdoToronto.com

    If you know the owners, let them know about us.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS