Info

BHH Blog | a toronto food blog

Winter Transitioning at BHH Blog: A list of cozy recipes to get you excited about the colder months ahead. We had breakfast, now on to lunch & brunch. 


Canon AE-1 | Kodak Portra 400

At the moment, my idea of a perfect winter lunch is the crispy and supremely moist fried chicken thigh sandwich from The County General. I’ve yet to get Leo to go back with me because – let’s be honest for a second – the portion and the price ($14)  make it hard to justify these small indulgences. (It’s so good though!) But, I recently had a decent Squash and Harvarti Omelette at Aunties and Uncles that hit the spot quite well.

From what I understand, people also really like soups?  Thankfully, Soupstock already happened and there’s enough inspiration to last you until spring.

I made Toad in the Hole with Onion Gravy during the summer for a London Olympics dinner. It’s light enough to have on its own for lunch.

Fried Egg Sandwich is quick and easy, no fuss.

My grandmother loves, loves my braised quinoa and I’m thinking of trying the One Pot Kale and Quinoa Pilaf posted on Food52.

Citrus season is coming up! Why not a Blood Orange, Beet and Fennel Salad?

My summer self will hate me for this, but carbo-loading with Baked Chili Cheese Fries from Joy the Baker is prime on my list.

Experience la belle vie with Seven Spoons’s  Tomato, Greens and Gruyère Panade, a classic French Provençal casserole that has everything you want: soup, bread and cheese.

Coddled Eggs with Potatoes and Spinach will most definitely fill you up after you’re done.

The Food Network’s Jamie Oliver Christmas marathons introduced me to this Simple As That Celeriac dish.

And for the perfect winter salad, there’s Gordon Ramsay’s Salmon Salad Niçoise with a Tarragon Mayonnaise : Part 1, Part 2, and Part 3. (I’m not quite sure it’s a salad niçoise at all, but he’s the chef, not me.) The salad is plated so elegantly too, it’d be nice for a gathering.

What are you looking forward to eating this winter?

Comments

One Comment

Post a comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Winter Transitioning: Recipe round up #3 | BHH

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS